Gilding is a technique to enhance the objects of art, it is to apply a thickness of gold on another substance, metal, wood, marble, leather, etc.

Gold is a bright yellow metal that has always symbolized immortality, eternity and wealth. Resistant to corrosion and oxidation, it is considered the most valuable and purest metal.

There are several types of gilding such as gilding, mercury gilding, depletion gilding, galvanic gilding, chemical gilding, vacuum gilding, gilding on wood and gilding on metal. But we will see in particular what gilding is made of gold leaf.

Gilding with gold leaf
 

The use of gilding with gold leaf dates back to ancient Egypt. The Egyptian paintings demonstrate this by presenting goldsmiths beating gold to make leaves. At that time, gold symbolizes the color of the gods and pharaohs and was exploited in large quantities to make sarcophagi and also allowed them to use it to adorn art objects, especially painting, sculpture and cosmetics. These objects were embellished with gold by pounding. The techniques of fine gold gilding have been mastered over time and have evolved since the eighteenth century.

There are two main methods:

  • Gilding with water (with tempera)
  • Gilding with oil (with the mixtion)

These two techniques are still used today,

Gilding with water

Gilding with water or tempera is a technique of gold applied mainly on wood (also terracotta). It is also said that it is the traditional gilding and the oldest but which guarantees a better result. A method used only in value jobs (frames, icons ...) and requires several successive operations for the preparatory phases: 

  • Application of gesso: which constitutes the base gilding;
  • Application of the plate: which consists of preparing the support to better attract the leaf when it is moistened with water;
  • Application of the leaf: a technique for laying the leaves;
  • Finishing: the action of browning and varnishing are necessary.

Find all the products to make beautiful gilding

Gilding with the mixtion

Gilding with the leaf can also be realized with the mixtion. A method of applying gold used on all external supports (roofs, ironwork ...) using a mixing layer that allows the sheet to adhere to the support. It is faster than water but also requires several steps:

  • Preparation of the support
  • Application of a mixtion
  • Laying the gold leaf
  • varnishing

The application of the gold leaf allows you to have a unique style of decoration to your objects. It is easy to perform but only requires a minimum of time.

Do you have a project, a question? Do not hesitate to contact us.


Compare

Close

La dorure est une technique visant à rehausser les objets d'art, elle consiste à appliquer une épaisseur d'or sur une autre substance, métal, bois, marbre, cuir, etc.

L'or est un métal brillant de couleur jaune qui symbolise depuis toujours l'immortalité, l'éternité et la richesse. Résistant à la corrosion et à l'oxydation, il est considéré comme le plus précieux et le plus pur des métaux.

Il existe plusieurs type de dorure tels que la dorure à la feuille, la dorure au mercure, la dorure par déplétion, la dorure galvanique, la dorure chimique, dorure sous vide, dorure sur bois et la dorure sur métal. Mais nous allons voir en particulier ce qu'est la dorure à la feuille d'or.

 

La dorure à la feuille d'or

 

L'utilisation de la dorure à la feuille d'or remonte dans le temps de l'ancienne Egypte. Les peintures Egyptiennes le démontrent en présentant des orfèvres battant l'or pour en faire des feuilles. A cette époque, l'or symbolise la couleur des dieux et des pharaons et fut exploité en grande quantité afin de fabriquer des sarcophages et leur permettaient aussi de l'utiliser afin de dorer des objets d'art, en particulier la peinture, la sculpture et la cosmétique. Ces objets étaient rehaussés d'or par martèlement. Les techniques de la dorure à l'or fin fut maîtrisée au fil du temps et ont évolué depuis le XVIIIe siècle.

Il existe deux méthodes principale :

  • La dorure à l'eau (à la détrempe)

  • La dorure à l'huile (à la mixtion)

    Ces 2 techniques sont toujours utilisées de nos jours,

     

    La dorure à l'eau

    La dorure à l'eau ou à la détrempe est une technique d'application d'or appliquée principalement sur du bois (également les terres cuites). On dit aussi que c'est la dorure traditionnelle et la plus ancienne mais qui permet de garantir un meilleur résultat. Une méthode utilisée que dans des travaux de valeurs (cadres, icones...) et nécessite plusieurs opérations successives pour les phases préparatoires :

     

  • Application du gesso : qui constitue la base la dorure ;

  • Application de l'assiette : qui consiste à préparer le support afin de mieux attirer la feuille quand elle est humidifiée à l'eau ;

  • Application de la feuille : une technique permettant de poser les feuilles ;

  • Finition : l'action de brunissage et de vernissage sont nécessaires.

    La dorure à la mixtion

    La dorure à la feuille peut aussi se réaliser à la mixtion. Une méthode d'application d'or utilisée sur tous supports extérieurs (toits, ferrures...) à l'aide d'une couche de mixtion qui permet à la feuille d'adhérer au support. Elle est plus rapide que celui à l'eau mais exige aussi plusieurs étapes :

     

  • Préparation du support

  • Application d'une mixtion

  • Pose de la feuille d'or

  • Vernissage

     

    L'application de la feuille d'or vous permet d'avoir un style de décoration unique à vos objets. Elle est facile à réaliser mais exige seulement un minimum de temps.


Close